Te Wānanga o Raukawa

Community Organisation

Te Wānanga o Raukawa
144 Tasman Road
Otaki 5512

Te Wānanga o Raukawa are a tikanga Māori tertiary education provider based in Ōtaki, Aotearoa, New Zealand. Hailed at the time as the 'smallest university in the world' Te Wānanga o Raukawa was established with only two students by the Raukawa Marae Trustees in 1981.

A special and unique place of learning, Te Wānanga o Raukawa has become recognised over the last 35+ years as an opportunity for all to learn within a tikanga Māori community under the principles of Whakatupuranga Rua Mano or Generation 2000. Whakatupuranga Rua Mano captured the health and wellbeing aspirations of the founding iwi of Te Wānanga o Raukawa known as the ART Confederation; Ngāti Toa Rangatira, Te Ati Awa ki Whakarongotai and Ngāti Raukawa ki te Tonga iwi in the lower North Island of Aotearoa, New Zealand. The main campus of the Wānanga sits in the tribal area of Ngāti Raukawa ki te Tonga which is acknowledged in the name of the institution.

Today the Wānanga offer over 40 qualifications at certificate, diploma, degree, post graduate and master's level. Apart from certificates all qualifications include iwi, hapū and reo studies alongside the specialisation with options ranging from reo, teaching, Māori laws, information management, sports science, environmental management, toi, literary performing arts, social work etc