34 days ago

Poll: Would you expect your parents to help you into your first home?

Stacey Reporter from Stuff

Almost a quarter of young people say the older generations should help first-home buyers into the property market, a new survey shows.

Westpac NZ polled 1000 people about their opinion on parents assisting their children into their first homes.

It found widespread acceptance of the idea: More than half the parents said they would loan money interest-free and only 38 per cent would expect it to be paid back.

To read more, click here

Image
Would you expect your parents to help you into your first home?
  • 6.3% Yes
    6.3% Complete
  • 39.4% No
    39.4% Complete
  • 54.3% I'd be grateful but I don't expect it
    54.3% Complete
1896 votes
More messages from your neighbours
20 minutes ago

Taradale,

Lee from Akina

Location:Taradale, Napier, Hawke's Bay
Available:Tue 6 Aug
Furnishings: Availability POSSIBLY can be soon).Equipped kitchen.Buy own food & fridge/freezer space.
Additional costs: Very small charge for salt. this is for the well water filtration unit. Only a few dollars each every few months.
Independent,QUIET,happy & honest household.
Clean,tidy,respectful of each others privacy & property.
Couples:No
Ideal flatmate:Considerate, motivated with housework, pays on time.Mature & trustworthy.
Parking: OFF ROAD. No garage though.
In the area: Supermarket, Takeaways. Chemist, Sports Park. 5-7 mins to Taradale & Tamatea shops, Winery & River.
Description: 3 bedroom house with 1 bathroom.
Please read all of the ad before making contact.
LOCATION: Past Poraiti.
Quiet home in an excellent location. Beautiful views and sunsets.
Please CHECK THE LOCATION BEFORE APPLYING as you will need your own transport (no buses in our immediate area).
SEMI RURAL but ONLY 3.4 ks away from Tamatea and just a couple more minutes to Taradale. (A FIVE MINUTE DRIVE).
10 minutes drive to EIT (Eastern Institute Of Technology) OR the expressway to Hastings.Around 15 mins to Hastings depending on peak & off peak traffic.
Looking for a mature minded working or full time student to share this modern 6 year old smoke free home.
Prefer a day shift worker. Must be animal friendly, must be clean and tidy, no parties, no drugs or smoking.
$170 BOARD INCLUDES:
*Phone and Internet.
*Power (price may vary slightly if you are a very high user). *Most cleaning products.
*Lawn mowing.
No beneficiaries, children full time or animals sorry. This is not my decision.
References may be required and a police check may be carried out.
Prefer long term (a minimum stay of 3 months).
ROOM: Has plenty of light. Will fit a KING bed and draws, built in closet, double glazing and carpeted. Generous amount of power points, country views and quiet. A single bed is available to you if you need one.

PARKING: OFF ROAD, never had any issues.
Friendly quiet neighbours, two are in the police force.

HOUSEWORK: Due to sharing communal spaces, a clean, hygienic and tidy person is wanted with good living habits:-)
I have existing house trained cats (professional sleepers and mostly outside) ;-)
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(") /¯`*•.¸This place will not suit you if you have a cat allergy.
We like to keep the place clean and treat it as a home rather than a flat.
For a quicker response text or call, thanks:-)
No smokers.

1 day ago

CHLORINE FREE WATER

Lee from Akina

Does anyone know where the new chlorine free taps are in Napier, I heard they might be at Anderson park?? Thanks

3 days ago

Finished outdoor aquarium number 2

Mike Hicks Contracting limited

Morning all
im happy with how this finished. Now I need another project
Any ideas?