33 days ago

John Tamihere talks mistakes, Trump and what he'd do as Auckland Mayor

Nick Truebridge Reporter from East & Bays Courier

John Tamihere arrives nearly 30 minutes late for our interview at Stuff's Auckland newsroom.

There is no apology. Nor is there a handshake when he leaves the building.

But this is Tamihere's style – he's unapologetic, he calls things exactly how he sees them and, at times, he will offend you.


Please add NP to your comment if it is not for print.

stuff.co.nz/auckland/113526550/meet-the-candidates-imperfect-auckland-mayoral-hopeful-john-tamihere-on-his-fiery-campaign

More messages from your neighbours
11 days ago

Attempted break in

Serena from Kohimarama

This guy was lurking around my car port last night at 1.30 am and down the side of the house the cameras got a good photograph. Be aware this holidays. I'm in Hawera Road. Lock your cars possessions and houses. He stole a bike but would have had more. We missed him by a minute. I'd highly recommend Arlo security cameras. Police are informed.
Hope we catch the thief!

2 hours ago

One man's special volunteer job at Auckland Airport

Sarah Reporter from Stuff

Hi neighbours,

Meet the man who has considered Auckland Airport his second home for over 20 years.

Twice a week, 86-year-old Les Featherstone takes a taxi to the International Terminal where he volunteers for four-and-a-half hours as an airport ambassador, or Bluecoat.

Twenty-four years is a long time to hold down one job, especially as a volunteer, but Featherstone says signing up was the best thing he's ever done.

In recent times, the airport has taken on a new meaning for him following the death of his wife last month.

Do you plan to volunteer once you retire? What would be your dream role?

To read more, click here.

Image
R L
25 minutes ago

Flat Mate Wanted

Rachel from Stonefields

3 bedroom townhouse with 2 bathrooms.

Warm New Townhouse located in Stonefeilds. 3 Levels, large Garage. 3 Bedrooms and 2.5 Bathrooms. You would share a bathroom with the other Flat mate. Must like Children as the other Flatmate is an 8 year old Girl which she is there on a part time basis (don't worry you won't need to babysit!!)

Close to Motorway and amenities, very central location. Off street parking available. No pets or smokers. All Kitchen, Bathroom and Washing Facilities. Will need own bedroom furniture and items.

$220 per week (Includes Water and Wifi) If Interested please Phone Mike on 021557413