Far North District Council

Community Organisation

The Far North is the northernmost district in New Zealand and shares its southern boundary with Kaipara and Whangarei Districts. The remainder of the district is surrounded by sea. The District has eight harbours and has a coastline of 1756 kilometres, however, if all islands and rocky outcrops are taken into account, the coastline becomes 2194 kilometres.

Together, the three districts make up the Northland Region. With 7323.86 km2, the Far North District is the largest of the three districts and is ranked third in terms of land area covered by district and city councils in New Zealand.